P: Politics

Q: Queens

R: Rainbows

S: Shakespeare

T: Toriten (Tempura Fried Chicken)

Who says the arts aren’t necessary? People who have never done, looked at, or listened to an art, apparently. Can you imagine a world without the arts? I can’t, which is why I’ve chosen it as my next A–Z umbrella topic. If there are any sub-genres you’d like me to highlight, feel free to slide into the conversation @BookRiot on Twitter! But it can’t be…can it? As far as I can tell (and someone please correct me if I’m wrong, this whole theory is based on a lot of Googling and the bonus two-pager at the back) the main title has something to do with tempura fried chicken popular in the region where the story takes place. According to the author, who is a huge fan of birds in general and crows in particular, they are great lovers of junk food, including mayo and fried chicken. Cooking in general, and frying specifically, are for sure arts. My parents were solid ’80s and ’90s health nuts so I learned both how to cook and how to fry on my own. I’m decent at the former but the latter is…still very much a crap shoot, especially if we’re taking proper deep frying. My Atlanta-born Nan would be appalled.

Comics A Z  The Arts from Politics to Toriten - 43Comics A Z  The Arts from Politics to Toriten - 91Comics A Z  The Arts from Politics to Toriten - 89Comics A Z  The Arts from Politics to Toriten - 59Comics A Z  The Arts from Politics to Toriten - 81