Reader, I am a terrible chess player. My father taught me the rudimentary rules, pieces and movements when I was a child, but honestIy I expect a cat could beat me with little trouble. So you can accept my view that I didn’t enjoy the show because of the chess. I enjoyed it because of its depictions of ambition, advantage, and self-sabotage and of its reminder of the most incredible thing about chess: that, for a time, a 64 square board was the epicentre of the Cold War struggle between the United States and the Soviet Union. While the vast majority of books about and featuring the game are written by men who have gained extensive opportunities, women’s voices are emerging and players of colour are increasingly winning opportunities to play in big leagues and small. I hope that in the near future, more players of colour, more women and more trans players, will be able to tell stories of their own. If you liked The Queen’s Gambit, you might like these books—whether you know your knight from your rook won’t matter.

Books Like The Queen’s Gambit

Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 43Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 32Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 89Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 79Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 65Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 73Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 26Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 80Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 74Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 57Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 95Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 28Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 42Books Like THE QUEEN S GAMBIT To Keep The Magic of Chess Alive - 96