On Book Riot in 2015, A.J. O’Connell wrote: “Maps help me figure out where things are, and, as someone with mild dyslexia, are very helpful because I can see which way characters are traveling.” The best fantasy maps help me as a disabled reader, too. My disability affects my mobility and sense of direction. Concepts like “walking distance” or how far non-disabled characters can travel in a day are meaningless to me. This is true even before accounting for magic and technology. Maps help me visualize scale, landscapes, and battles. Here are some of the best maps in fantasy books, plus links to online versions:

I understand some why some authors and readers may consider maps in fantasy books unnecessary, overdone, or just not for them. To some, they may even be a type of spoiler. I love them, and there’s a lot to explore in the links and books in this article. Done well, they’re artifacts from a fully realized world. — Marigold Atkey (@marigoldatkey) April 19, 2018

Read More

The pros and cons of fantasy maps An interview with two fantasy cartographers on their creative processes 

9 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 979 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 949 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 589 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 359 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 779 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 249 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 329 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 479 of the Best Fantasy Maps In Books - 35