For many of us, our first introductions to the world of writers like Shakespeare, Jane Austen, and others writing in English have been through translated versions. The text gets redesigned, often condensed, and the end product is something that is faithful to the original work but also has an essence of its own. Translated literature is how we step into the universe of the “other” and learn that their joys and woes are not much different from our own. As a child, I didn’t have much access to world literature. I missed out on a lot of great books simply because I couldn’t read any other language, barring English and Bengali. I was still alien to the concept of translation and how life-altering it could be. Things have changed for the better since the time I was a child, though. Now the local bookstores in my small city are thronged by parents conscious of the importance of establishing the habit of reading translated literature in their kids. Today, I have penned down a list of eight exemplary works of translated children’s literature that I wish I had read when I was a child. Rich in literary splendor, cultural values, and remarkable life lessons, these books will keep you thoroughly entertained, regardless of your age. If you are on the lookout for more translated works of fiction, then I highly recommend this list featuring women writers from around the globe. And for more splendid recommendations on children’s fiction, I suggest this piece on the most influential children’s books of all times.

8 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 788 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 848 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 118 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 578 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 508 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 448 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 528 Translated Works Of Fiction For Children  And Readers Of All Ages  - 16