Seeing a relationship bloom from friendship to new love is so sweet. In The Summer I Turned Pretty, Belly has spent years worth of summers growing closer with Conrad and Jeremiah Fisher. I still need to read the next two books in the series, so shhhh no spoilers on who she ends up with. Thinking back on other fictional couples I’ve shipped in the past, I noticed my natural inclination towards friends to lovers. For example, I’ve been prone to die on the hill of rooting for Jo and Laurie’s friends to lovers romance in Little Women. (Though true be told, this Rioter’s take on Laurie does have me reconsidering my stance a bit). Like Belly and the Fisher brothers, Jo and Laurie bond during the time they spend together over the years as they share interests and develop trust and joy in one another’s company. I think friends to lovers books promise such endearing romances because the characters form a solid foundation of trust and comfort with one another before they fall in love. Recently, I came across Joe Pinsker’s (2022) article in The Atlantic that explores this idea. Pinsker discusses a number of benefits that arise from dating a friend. He notes that friends who become romantic couples have a more complete idea of who their partner is when they begin dating. They also already know they enjoy spending time together. “What’s more,” he writes, “relationships that emerge from friendships start from a place of care and warmth — which can mean avoiding the exhausting game playing that can arise between two dating-weary strangers conditioned to look out for themselves.” I can certainly slow clap to that sentiment. So, for those who love a good friends to lovers story like I do, I’ve gathered together a list of great reads below. In the spirit of The Summer I Turned Pretty, I’m focusing on YA friends to lovers romance books. For more YA romance reads, check out the links below!

What to Read If You Loved The Summer I Turned Pretty YA Summer Romance Adaptations to Stream Right Now For the Overachievers, 13 Of the Best Rivals to Lovers YA Books
8 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 98 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 638 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 438 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 108 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 258 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 328 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 208 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 238 Sweet YA Friends to Lovers Romance Books - 75