Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction & Chip Zdarsky “Two Weeks” – FKA Twigs And the dreamlike quality of this performance fits right into this book’s art. “Damn, I Wish I Was Your Lover” – Sophie B. Hawkins “Blue Jeans” – Lana Del Rey love you more than those bitches before


Wayward by Jim Zub & Steve Cummings “Not Only Human” – Heather Nova maybe there’s a light that’s always on, maybe we’re not only human Isn’t Heather so pretty, too? “Tightrope” – Janelle Monae Some people talk about ya like they know all about ya When you get down they doubt ya And when you tip it on the scene, yeah they talkin’ bout it Cause they can’t tip on the scene They just talk about it, t-t-t-talk bout it When you get elevated They love it or they hate it You dance up on them haters Keep getting funky on the scene While they jumpin’ round ya They trying to take all of your dreams But you can’t allow it (lyrics via) I just want to kick ass and be a weirdo with Rori while this song plays in the background of our buddy show. Bonus: a cute version from Chvrches.


Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick & Valentine DeLandro “Not a Pretty Girl” – Ani DiFranco I am not a pretty girl That is not what I do I ain’t no damsel in distress And I don’t need to be rescued So put me down punk Maybe you’d prefer a maiden fair Isn’t there a kitten stuck up a tree somewhere I am not an angry girl But it seems like I’ve got everyone fooled Every time I say something they find hard to hear They chalk it up to my anger And never to their own fear (lyrics via) I first heard this song when I was 14 years old, and it became my “non-compliant” anthem. I wore shit-kicker boots and regularly told everyone who bugged me to fuck off. I needed this book then, too, to make me feel empowered.   Share yours in the comments if you’ve got ’em.


Follow us on Twitter for more comics goodness!

 

6 Music Comic Associations I Can t Unhear - 53